Almost 9 years ago, on December 31, 2013, the State of Connecticut passed a law that obligates the operator of any motor vehicle to remove the accumulated snow and ice off of the roofs of their vehicle before hitting the roads. With tonight and tomorrow's expected nor'easter dumping up to a foot of snow on northwest Connecticut, I hope that the fines will be flying as quickly as the snow tomorrow.

WRKI and WINE logo
Get our free mobile app

I learned how to drive in the mid 80's, so I've endured a couple of decades of ice-missile free-for-alls on 84, 95, and the Merritt. I remember a terrifying accident involving an 18 wheeler in the 90s. I was driving down the big hill into Middlebury/Waterbury on 84 eastbound before Exit 17, when a huge sheet of ice broke off of the top of the tractor trailer. It crashed right onto an F150 a couple of vehicles ahead of me, which in turn then fishtailed off the right side of the road.

Getty Images
Getty Images

That incident made me pay attention to the danger of my laziness in my own snow removal. Connecticut took it a step further in 2013. If you're driving your own private vehicle, and don't remove the snow and ice off of the roof, and you head out onto the roads, you face a minimum $75 dollar fine. If your chunk of ice or snow somehow injures someone or damages property, you face a fine between $200-$1000. Commercial motor vehicle operators face stiffer fines of $500 - $1250.

Do what I do, if you have a shorter, or elderly neighbor, show some kindness and help them out. You might be saving me a broken windshield or worse, so thank you.

Back in the Day, What Concerts Did You See at Lake Compounce?

Lake Compounce recently announced that they're building a floating stage, and bringing live music back in the Summer of 2023. I loved going to concerts at Compounce back in the day, and I saved some of my ticket stubs, were you at these shows?

The First 9 Locations in Connecticut You Can Buy Legal Weed In 2023

The countdown to the sale of recreational marijuana in Connecticut is officially underway and this is directly from a press release from the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection.

The following Medical Marijuana Dispensaries have been notified that they successfully completed the necessary steps for conversion to a hybrid license and may begin selling cannabis products to all adults 21 and over, beginning no earlier than 10 a.m. on January 10, 2023

6 of the Most Christmassy Towns in Connecticut

More From WRKI and WINE