Former Allman Brothers Band guitarist Dickey Betts played his first show in four years in his hometown of Sarasota, Fla., delivering a “live rehearsal show” last night ahead of his 2018 U.S. tour.

He announced the road trip just three weeks after having said he had retired from performing. The set at the White Buffalo Saloon was the first time Betts' solo band played songs written by Gregg Allman.

You can watch video clips and see the set list below.

My career is over," Betts said in November 2017. “It's a little bit of burnout, a little sour grapes, a little bit like a boxer who gives it up. It's pretty tough, to tell you the truth. Everyone wishes they could be young forever. But I feel like I did my work, and I'm not gonna do anything that's gonna top what I'm known for. So why don't you just stay home?"

But the following month, he changed his mind and announced a tour. “Everywhere I go, fans keep saying they want me to get out and play again," he said. "I think the time is right.”

Betts' son Duane, a member of the band, responded to his dad's news on Instagram. “So glad you’ve decided to come out of retirement," he wrote. "I knew that you would.”

Last night's show included a performance of “Midnight Rider,” which was penned by the late Allman. The Herald-Tribune notes this was the first time Betts played the song since leaving the Allman Brothers Band in 2000.

Betts' tour officially begins tonight in Macon, Ga., and ends in Scranton, Penn., on July 22.

Dickey Betts, 5/16/18, White Buffalo Saloon, Sarasota, Fla., Set List
1. “Hot ’Lanta”
2. “Statesboro Blues”
3. “Nothing You Can Do”
4. “Midnight Rider”
5. “Blue Sky”
6. “Get Away”
7. “Seven Turns”
8. “Whipping Post”
9. “In Memory of Elizabeth Reed”
10. “Ramblin’ Man”

More From WRKI and WINE